Ten local students receive scholarships from Gesa

      GESA CREDIT UNION NEWS RELEASE -- Gesa Credit Union is pleased to announce the recipients of their 2014 Gesa Educational Scholarships. Gesa has been offering scholarships to new college students since 1987. Winning students attend colleges and universities throughout the country and represent diverse backgrounds and educational goals. Applicants were selected by a volunteer committee of Gesa members who also serve the community in a variety of leadership positions.

      "Education is important to our economy and our local community. Here at Gesa, we recognize the importance of our role as a dedicated community partner," said Gesa President and CEO, Don Miller. "Helping students achieve their educational dreams not only benefits the student, but it brings tremendous benefit to our communities."

      Receiving $2,000 Gesa Educational Scholarships are:

      Jose Anguiano - Kamiakin High School
      Trevan Strean - Cashmere High School
      Sabrina Habib - Chiawana High School
      Tiara Johnson - Kamiakin High School
      Courtney Sarver - Kamiakin High School
      Daisy Rodriguez - Kennewick High School
      Kathleen Burnett - Prosser High School
      Amanda Miller - Kamiakin High School
      Alyssa Parra - Pasco High School
      Courtney Lybbert - Southridge High School

      Receiving the $5,000 "President's Choice" Scholarship was:

      Kaileah Akker - Kamiakin High School

      With this year's awards, the credit union has now given $220,000 to deserving local students.